The Pet Food Industry’s Dirty Little Secret

The two loves of my life, now gone, were two beautiful thoroughbred show dogs. I got them three years apart from opposite ends of the state; they were of no relation. Fast forward to my female getting sick. My on-call vet misdiagnosed her, leading me to seek out another vet. She was dying of kidney failure. One day after the diagnosis, she died in my arms at home. When my male started displaying the same symptoms, I moved quickly for a diagnosis. It was the same…kidney failure. If I believed in coincidences, I would have chalked it up to that, but I don’t believe in coincidences. When it came time to guide him across the Rainbow Bridge with the help of my very experienced vet, I was horror struck when the vet had to inject him twice with Phenobarbital; the drug that is used to put them down. Imagine standing there, sobbing, saying goodbye to your beloved pet, and finding out the process had to be repeated. It was torturous.

A few days later after the tears subsided, I started comparing the health deterioration of both dogs coupled with the fact my male had to get two injections, I knew there was more to it….so I started to research. I read everything I could get my hands on. This lead me down a shocking trail of discovery, lies, and manipulations by pet food companies. I came across a book called “Food Pets Die For” by Ann N. Martin. She has been investigating and writing about the abhorrent practices of the pet food industry for over 20 years. The FDA does not monitor pet food companies the way they monitor human food companies. This gives the big corporations room to add what they want. They are not required to list all the ingredients. They conduct their testing on animals and shockingly, sickeningly, even use deceased pets in their meat. That means they have contracts to amass dead pets strictly for grinding them down and adding them to the food your cats and dogs eat in order to bulk up the amount of protein in the food.

If you can get past that (and I hope you can’t), you might ask yourself; “Okay so they use dead pets. Why does that concern me?” My answer is this: the pets are put down with Phenobarbital. Phenobarbital is still in their bodies  after they die, so essentially, your living pets are eating Phenobarbital every day that you feed them commercial pet food. Remember my boy that had to be injected twice? It’s because he ate commercial pet food with Phenobarbital in it. He was growing an immunity to it, hence the need to inject him twice. Thankfully, I took my dogs home with me after they crossed the Rainbow Bridge but millions of people don’t. They leave it to the vet to take care of the bodies. Their kidney failure was brought on by the Phenobarbital laced pet food with both my dogs. From the time we are able to comprehend commercials, we have been brainwashed by pet food companies claiming that it’s dangerous to feed our pets human food. Of course they want you to believe this lie. How else would they sell their product? Make people believe they have no other choice.

The truth of the matter is that our pets can thrive and actually live longer on a solid, healthy diet of human food. Ann N. Martin has been doing it for years and her dogs have far outlived their life expectancy. For the past two years my dogs and cat have been on human food diets and they have never been healthier, shinier, fit, or had more energy. It was only later, after I got my current dog that I had a conversation with my vet about her new diet. He told me he never feeds his pets commercial pet food and hasn’t done so for decades. So the next time you reach for that bag of pet food, remember that you are feeding your beloved babies poison that will send them to an early grave and cost you far more vet bills than if you fed them a homemade diet of quality human food….and you might save yourself the torture of having to endure more than one injection when it’s time for them to go.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

